Ugrás a tartalomhoz Lépj a menübe

Regions of the UK




The highland zone

United Kingdom
Official name
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Form of government
constitutional monarchy with two legislative houses (House of Lords [8151]; House of Commons [650])
Head of state
Sovereign: Queen Elizabeth II
Head of government
Prime Minister: Theresa May
Official languages
English; both English and Scots Gaelic in Scotland; both English and Welsh in Wales
Official religion
See footnote 2.
Monetary unit
pound sterling (£)
(2015 est.) 65,092,000
England: 53m
Scotland: 5,4m
Wales: 3m
Northern Ireland: 1,81m
Total area (sq mi)
Total area (sq km)
Urban-rural population
Urban: (2014) 82.3%
Rural: (2014) 17.7%
Life expectancy at birth
Male: (2011) 78.9 years
Female: (2011) 82.7 years
Literacy: percentage of population age 15 and over literate
Male: (2006) 99%
Female: (2006) 99%
GNI per capita (U.S.$)
(2014) 42,690
  • 1Active members as of March 2016, 88 hereditary peers, 701 life peers, and 26 archbishops and bishops.
  • 2Church of England “established” (protected by the state but not “official”); Church of Scotland “national” (exclusive jurisdiction in spiritual matters per Church of Scotland Act 1921); no established church in Northern Ireland or Wales.